Forever Book Review

Forever

9409458

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release Date: 12 July 2011

Format: E-Book

Rating: 4.8/5 Stars

Hey Bookworms! Miss me? I know it’s been a while, but I couldn’t post until my grades were in. Happy to say I got an A- in the class and my other grades were good as well. Anywho the topic at hand is my book review! I know and apologize that this review is overdue. (I got caught up in finals and family stuff, and I’m hoping blogging will keep me sane during the continuing family stuff)

I am part of the Mercy Falls Read-A-Long with Girl in the Pages and She Reads She Blogs! As you may or may not know. Since there are three books in main series we each decided to review and discuss one and decided to each do a review and discussion of the companion novel Sinner. I chose to do Forever, since out of the three I think it was my favorite. I won’t summarize because I don’t want to spoil the series for people who haven’t read the other two, but if you continue on reading and haven’t read the other two there may be spoilers for you ahead! I hope you guys enjoy this, but please take it easy on me since this is only my third or fourth book review.

Thoughts as a Reread

As a reread it was easier to fall into than Linger, but I don’t know if it was because of situation. It drew me in a lot quicker letting me easier into Grace’s head than the previous two. In this book I didn’t feel as much of an observer as the other two, but I felt part of the action. Overall it made me very excited to open up Sinner!

What I Loved!

 I loved the use of wolf behavior in Grace’s transitional behavior into the pack in contrast to Shelby’s twisted version of a wolf. Her scene with killing the starling quite torturously as in a way to “relive” the experience of being a wolf, but I personally showed more insight to how twisted Shelby’s past truly is. Wolves never killed for sport, by having this scene I feel the author showed Shelby’s need for power over something. This book showed truly how a pack acts and that you do not have to be blood to be family.

Leading into another plus that I loved about this book which was lacking in book two was the way the characters were beginning to take control of their situation. Linger really rubbed me the wrong way when all the characters seemed to be and embrace their hopeless situation. In Forever, the characters looked and worked for a solution. Within the constantly changing point of views you got a feel of how each character was now looking and trying for a solution: Cole with trying to find the right formula, Sam looking for a new home for the pack, Grace coming up with the plan to move and standing up to her parents, Isabel keeping tabs on her father and helping Cole research. In this book they shed off the skin of helpless teenagers they held in Linger. This book they find voices their own and grab a hold of ones from the past. No matter the situation there will always be a light or if you try hard enough a way out. That is what this book taught me.

Lastly I loved how we get a peek at both Sam’s and Cole’s musical talents although brief. It makes me envious that although I write poems… I truly have no idea how to turn them into songs. I love Maggie’s sense of creativity shining through. The detail in how Sam decorates his room reminds me of the wall mural I have seen on her facebook. Reminding readers that there is always a constant way to express yourself. One example of expression of this book was the book trailer for Forever featuring Sam’s song: (found on the Author’s youtube)

Things I Wasn’t Too Fond Of

Honestly it was just the parents in general, but then again I liked finding myself relating with the characters. No family is truly without flaws, but seeing the dysfunction made me realize I am not alone. This leads into my discussion: There is a saying, “Children are a reflection of their parents” What does this saying mean to you? Are you defined by what they teach you, or how they act. I think past a certain point we are responsible for defining who we are. It’s just about being brave enough to act and speak on it.  Shelby and Sam both from abusive situations show different sides of the spectrum. One shows where it can end if you blame your parents, the other if you take control surrounding yourself with people who love and support you. Do you think Grace’s parents truly loved her or did they feel guilty for losing control? What themes really resonated with you in this book? Did you love it? Did you hate it? What were your favorite parts? Do you agree or disagree with me? Feel free to comment down below and let me know! Also would appreciate critiques on my reviewing! Have a good Christmas bookworms!

  wolf (2)

shiverreadalongbanner2

3 thoughts on “Forever Book Review

  1. I’m glad you’re back and that you got good grades. I’m with you on characters just thinking something is hopeless instead of doing something about it. I think “children reflect their parents” means that we pick up on their habits and such, not necessarily the whole take after them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Announcement: Wolves of Mercy Falls Read-A-Long! | She Reads She Blogs

Leave a Reply

