Sinner Book Review and Discussion

Sinner cover

Author:Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release Date: 1 July 2014

Format: E-Book

Hey bookworms! I know this book review is late, and I apologize for it! I am hoping how I feel with this book and how active I plan to be in 2015 will make up for it! Well bookworms this is my last read of the year! I know I kind of pushing it to the last second, but this book needed time. Well bookworms this is the last book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls Read-A-Long, Sinner, that I’m doing with Girl in the Pages and She Reads She blogs. Now I will get started with telling you why this book was one of the lucky few to receive 5/5 stars!

Voice and Characters

First of all this book was based on two amazing characters that stole my heart in the previous book  Forever. The way Maggie slips into her characters is amazing and to keep it diverse like the previous three books she switches between points of views. The sarcasm that both Cole and Isabel used had me giggling in the middle of the night. For each of these characters the characteristic of sarcasm and coolness is their armor. Cole’s favorite thing to say was, “I never do things in even numbers”, it was something ridiculous to say to throw off someone’s worry or concern. He was more nonchalant letting everyone think nothing truly affected him.

Isabel on the other hand had more of a cold snarkiness to her. She let herself seem she was above it all. She let it seem when she was at work or just in public in general that she was above the troubles of others although when she returned “home” though she get her soul being taken apart piece by piece. She couldn’t hide at home she was faced with the sadness of her family around her. Isabel though was one who is able to conceal her emotions with a mask.
In contrast to these two characters who hide everything with a different skin, whether it’s Isabel’s mask, Cole’s persona as Cole St. Clair the rock star, or even his shifting to his wolf form there was the characters of Sofia and Jeremy. Sofia is overemotional and tries to overcompensate with perfection. She is so much of a raw character that Isabel herself refers to her cousin as, “childlike”. She clings to Isabel in a constant familial friend even if Isabel is less than friendly to her cousin most of the time. Jeremy, Cole’s bandmate, is calm and soothing; he is laid back and tends to be the voice of reason. He is a reminder of how you technically don’t have to let the influence of fame get to you. He mentions to Cole that it was a choice not to fall into the rabbit hole.

Themes/Problems

Family: This book is another reflection of how family can affect their children without knowing it and vice versa. There are times in many families especially in divorce/separation that parents believe either by choice or ignorance that their children are unaware. Children on the other hand can do the same to their parents. Family can leave members shadows of themselves. The true strength is being able to have someone to let it out to and rise above it.

Perseverance: Whether it’s Cole’s comeback to music, his pursuing Isabel, or Isabel’s insistence on Medical school. Isabel is using it for stability in her chaotic life. It becomes her mantra on days that get too hard for her to handle. I love that her and Cole both start and achieve an end goal in this story.

Discussion

Besides what you thought of this last book, my discussion doesn’t really have to do with the book. This book helped me through some family issues letting me know I wasn’t alone in that department? What book have you read through recently that has helped you get through a tough time or made you feel less alone? Maybe it just gave you a laugh? I’m sorry if I am pushing a tough subject, but I guess one of my favorite things about books is they can connect you to others. These authors connect with us as readers, and help us to know we’re not as alone in the world as we feel. Hope you enjoyed this review Bookworms and I am hoping you are all have a fun AND safe New Year’s Eve! I hope 2015 brings you good health, happiness, love, and lots of good books!

wolf (2)

 shiverreadalongbanner2

2 thoughts on “Sinner Book Review and Discussion

  1. This is the first book I read by Maggie (I can’t spell her last name) and I was surprised that I really liked it. My favorite part is all the little things she adds, the inside jokes and nicknames.

    It’s odd but when I’m having a hard time I like kids books like Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and Skulduggery Pleasant. I don’t know why. I’m glad this book helped you. That’s the best thing about books, when they can cheer you up. 🙂 Have a happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you have a good year too. I don’t have a specific book in mind when I’m upset, but I love when you pick one up, and it cheers you up. It’s best when it does it by surprise. I still have to finish the second Percy Jackson series. I am having trouble getting into them honestly. The last 2, but I am hoping to dive in and finish them before break is over! Thanks for the comment and support! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

