January Wrap Up and February TBR

Hey bookworms! Sorry I haven’t posted in forever, but I just started back up at school again, so I am learning how to juggle blogging, school work, reading, writing, and coming up with ideas! Anywho I wanted to just let you guys know how my reading went for January, My Yearly GoodReads Goal, and some of the books I plan on reading in February!

I am gonna start with my wrap-up for the 24 hour Read A Thon which did not go as planned! We ended up having some work done on our shower, so the construction noises were very distracting! (On the plus side I now have a shower with a knob I can turn off and on without help, and I adore it!) So I only got to read 4 books if you count my audiobook 3 if you only count physical reads which were:

1.Losing it by Cora Carmack

16034964

I saw her speak at the Las Vegas Valley Book Festival this year, and just her personality and perseverance as an author made me pick up the first one in the series. I related to the fear that Bliss has being in her final year of college and choosing a more of an art based degree like I have. So yea this book was definitely a book I needed entering my last 2 semesters of University

2.Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and Narrated by Jim Dale

Night Circus

I absolutely adored it being read to me and got it on the Nook Audio App for free after my library copy was a bust! I could picture it and feel things more deeply hearing it. If you are worried about the slow pacing of the writing I definitely recommend the read this way. Again this book will always get a 5/5 stars from me but the audio book pushed it to a new level.

3. NANA Vol. 1 by Ai Yazawa

Nana Vol 1

To be honest after the first part I skimmed it I was expecting something hidden, that wasn’t shown in the anime like I did with the Sailor Moon Mangas but it seemed to just be the same which made me a bit sad, but I did love the art style and since I do love the storyline overall this got a 5/5. If you’re not sure if you want to check out the anime I definitely recommend picking up the first volume.

4.Petals on the Wind by V.C. Andrews

Petals on the Wind

The sequel to Flowers in the Attic I felt the need to start these controversial series after seeing the lifetime movie, well that I felt like one of the few who hadn’t at least read it. The second however didn’t keep me hooked in after the beginning I didn’t feel as much was at stake. It was okay compared to first, but because I am not one to quit a series if I liked the first. I hate being a quitter. Because of how this one dragged on I was only able to give it a 3/5 stars.

5. Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Say What You Will

This book was the hardest book of January for me to read. I bought this book when it was on sale on my nook over break. It had been getting a lot of hype and all I knew was it was about two odd high school kids falling for each other, but when I watched a video on youtube with one of my favorite vloggers, Aprilius Maximus, and learned one of the main characters had Cerebral Palsy like me. I immediately went to the author’s website and stumbled on the UK reviews, and well some of them got me riled up to say the least. This was a really hard book for me to read because it reminded me of issues I’ve dealt with self-esteem wise, but it also misrepresented a lot for me. Needless to say I had a lot of feelings on it. As a reader with CP reading a book with a main character who has CP as well I feel the need to discuss this book further. There will be a discussion on my feelings on this book up this weekend, so if you have read the book and want to know my feelings on it keep an eye out. It may be draining on me, but I feel I need to. I gave this book a 3/5 stars

6. The Calling by Kelley Armstrong

The Calling

I love that this story is in the same world as the Women of the Otherworld Series it makes me want to visit the places in the book and makes me like the characters more. This is the second book and although I liked the first book better I am curious to see how the last book ends! 4/5 stars

7. Inspire by Cora Cormack

Inspire

I saw this one out again, by Cormack and I loved the summary before it came out. I got it and fell even more with the premise. I loved how she used mythology and balanced it with the mortal. I cannot wait for book 2! This book got a 4/5 it really kept me in it.

8. Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Crank

I didn’t like the content of the book, but I did like how it was written. It made it a quick read, but I rated it a 3/5.

February TBR

1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (Buddy Read with: The Paige-Turner)

A Game of Thrones

2. Zodiac by Romina Russell (Currently Reading)

Zodiac

3. Bitten by Kelley Armstrong (Reread)

Bitten

4. The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead (Cannot wait!!!)

The Ruby Circle

5. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum (For class)

Wizard of Oz

6. Frostbite by Richelle Mead (Reread)

Frostbite

The last one is tentative, and of course any book that I feel calls my name! My overall goal each month is to finish 6 books a month to meet my 72 book goal this year What are you reading book worms? What did you read? Read any of the ones I have mentioned? If so please comment and let me know down below! My favorite thing to talk about is books!

wolf (2)

2 thoughts on “January Wrap Up and February TBR

Leave a Reply

