February Wrap Up and March TBR

Hey bookworms! Sorry this is late, but I haven’t been feeling too well. Now that I am feeling much better here is my February Wrap-Up in which I read 6 books, and what I am reading in March!

February Wrap-Up:

1. Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

Where the Sidewalk Ends

I was feeling a bit nostalgic and felt like a light read so what better than poems that made me giggle as a kid? This book is just as cute and amusing as it was when I was a kid! I gave it 5/5 out of stars!

2. The Ruby Circle By Richelle Mead

The Ruby Circle

I was so sad to see this series end, but it was so good! It was funny and cute encompassing my favorite fictional couple in the world! I went to the signing and heard her read my favorite chapter in the book! This was shorter than I wanted, but it still was in my opinion a good end. I am hoping she will write at least a novella for certain events, but I this book on its own was a 5/5 stars as well.

3. Circles in the Stream (Avalon: Web of Magic #1) By Rachel Roberts

Avalon Circles in the Stream

Another reread from my young age. This was a book I had read in middle or elementary school which I had to give away when I was younger because my mom wanted to encourage me to let go of books I had already read… Yea if you can’t tell I still have not let that go, but I saw a bind-up on book outlet reminding me of the title, so I looked it up on my nook. This book you can tell especially reading it older you can tell who its audience meant for  by the writing, so even though it was still cute it didn’t grab me as it did then. This book was a 3/5 stars still am curious about how it ends, but am not in a rush to because of the writing. If you know younger readers though I definitely recommend it!

 4. The Wizard of Oz By Frank L Baum

Wizard of Oz

This is definitely a book you appreciate more as an older reader because you can dig into the themes deeper as an older reader. I read this book for my Book Critique in my Women’s Traveler class and am glad it was my first read. Some of the things in it I think would have scared as a young reader, but I definitely enjoyed it, and hope to continue the series now that my curiosity about the world of Oz has been magnified. If you plan on reading it I definitely recommend separating the book from the movie. I gave it a 3/5 stars!

5. Elektra Vol. 1: Bloodlines By Haden Blackman

Elektra Volume 1

This was a treat for me because I want to get into reading more graphic novels and comics, so I thought why not start with one of my favorite Marvel movies! This was definitely different though than its film counterpart. The art work, story, and action were still really good even if it was a little darker than I thought it would be. I gave this one a 4/5 stars and I can’t wait for volume 2!

6. Pokémon Adventures Volume 1 By Hidenori Kusaka

Pokemon Volume 1

I am 22 (23 in 7 days!) and am still proudly a Pokémon freak! I’ve been curious about the original story line for a long time, so I gave into the urge and bought volume one on my nook. I totally adored it! It was lengthy and gave me a whole new view on my favorite game/childhood show. Needless to say I will be devouring the rest I love it when mangas give you much more to the story. For those of you that don’t know this story is about Red not Ash and to get the true origins just made me a bigger Pokémon freak and proved my love for it is never going to die! This was 5/5 stars if not more!

March TBR (or what I currently reading)

So I don’t really have a TBR for March since I am kind of in a slump, but here is what I am hoping to read and hopefully finish in March!

1.Unleashed By Nancy Holder

Wolf Springs Chronicles

Yes I have really been reading this for 2 months, but since it’s a paper book I kind of pick it up when I can. It is getting more interesting though, so I think I should have it done in March!

2. A Game of Thrones By George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones

I’m doing a buddy read with this one and we’ve both been caught up by school, so it’s been on the side, but can’t wait to keep rereading it. After this weekend I am hoping to get back to it! Buddy Reading definitely makes me eager to finish the rest of the series.

3. Zodiac By Romina Russell

Zodiac

I definitely am enjoying it, but because of reviews I feel I have ruined some of my enthusiasm for this book which I was excited for when its released was talked about. If you pick up this book I definitely recommend going in blind to form your own opinion

4. Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

Bitten

Since I am pouting that I am not in Canada to watch Season 2. I rereading the first one very slowly to fill my craving and then plan on rereading the second book which will hopefully get back into book six which is based again on the pack.

5.  Hood By Emma Donoghue

Hood

I was really craving a book with its setting in Ireland, but since this book deals with death the pacing is a bit slow at times. Not the best thing for a slump, but I still am enjoying it.

6. Evermore by Alyson Noel

Evermore

I really loved this book in high school, so I got the audiobook (which I am in a bit of a phase of buying)! I love revisiting the premise of this book, and audiobooks help me feel I am beating my slump a bit.

7. Eat, Pray, Love By Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat Pray Love

This has been on my TBR forever! Listening to her Tedtalks and my Women Travelers class has made me crave and I picked up this book last night, and I fell into it very easy. I definitely love her voice in this as I had to muffle my giggles.

So that’s what I’ve been up to bookworms! Hope you’re all having a good night! What have you been reading? Have you grabbed any of these books I’ve mentioned? Do you feel reviews can ruin reading some books for you sometimes? Do you know any books set in Ireland to recommend to me? Feel free to let me know in the comments!

wolf (2)

2 thoughts on “February Wrap Up and March TBR

    • Elektra was really good and loooved the artwork! If you’ve seen the movie try to clear your mind of it when you read it! We can try to get back on it Thursday maybe?

      Like

Leave a Reply

