Top Ten Tuesday: My Top Ten Favorite Authors

toptentuesday

Hey bookworms! So I finished my project with time to spare which means I have time to work on a Top Ten Tuesday post! This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish that has various fun themes with 10 answers for each blogger to give their answers to. I love viewing these each week, but with the end of the semester coming up I’ve missed a few. The ones I have been able to work on have been scheduled when I can. I’m hoping after the second Week of May I can post more because then school is done for the semester! Woo! Anywho let’s get onto this week’s theme! All the links for the authors will be links to their sites

My Top Ten Favorite Authors

1. Kelley Armstrong

Bitten

Yes I talk about her loads, but seriously her world building leaves me in awe! I love her character and her personality. I’ve only read 7 of her books, but I her character make me feel better always provide comfort. Maybe it’s because they can kick my problems butt and protect me if they were real.

2. Richelle Mead

Bloodlines

She is one of the authors that have been with me the longest again it is her characters that pulled me in. I have only read The Vampire Academy and the spinoff the Bloodlines series, but I bought Gameboard of the Gods, and hope to read it as soon as I have the time.

3. David Nicholls

One Day

I don’t read a lot of contemporary fiction, but I feel he portrays instances of life realistically. I feel I can connect to these characters really well. I am not a totally mushy reader lately, but I feel he has become a comfort read and plan to read his book US over the summer.

4. Cecelia Ahern

PS I love You

One of my few contemporary Adult authors of choice. Again she shares the same qualities as Nicholls where I feel her characters handle situations realistically although in Love, Rosie a little frustratingly. I definitely want to read more of her.

5. Tamora Pierce

the-immortals-series

She is my favorite fantasy writer and my first. Yes I read her before Harry Potter and she gave me my introduction to strong female characters! I would probably read her grocery lists!

6. JK Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

It is her story as well as her writing that pulls me to her. I want to read her new book on writing. It may be my end of semester gift to myself. She makes me believe if her and Harry survived hardships, so can I.

7. Julie Anne Peters

Lies my Girlfriend Told Me

She writes amazing LGBT stories and even touches on rough subjects. She has the right way of leading readers into the hard stuff. She really connects you to the subject

8. Cornelia Funke

Inkheart

Her setting and her closeness to character and her use of back story. I just her and want to read more of her

9. Andrea Cremer

Nightshade Series

Another author that got me through high school. I love wolves, and i like love triangles and she gave each boy a chance. I really want to give more of her books a go because she seems like a wonderful person on top of her writing who deals with issues I feel myself suffer with from time to time.

10. Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief

His characters and the way he uniquely uses learning disabilities in the PoJ series as a positive thing was amazing. I like how he never made it the same for every character and for authors writing about any disability I think it is important to make it clear that not every case is the same!

So bookworms those are my picks! Do you like any of these authors? Will you gravitate towards an author if you know their own back story. There is more I could put, but I am struggling with my slump and school doesn’t allow me to read much lately. So I hope to add more authors to my favorites list. If you know an author with a good story let me know! Feel free to nudge me towards good books as always. Have a good week and I plan to have more posts up very soon! Be safe bookworms and happy reading! =) If you are dealing with the end of the semester hang in there we can do it!

wolf (2)

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Top Ten Favorite Authors

  1. I think I have to Read more Richelle Mead books , she is on so many top ten lists this week. She almost made my list but haven’t read enough of her books to be certain.

    Like

  2. Oh, I loved One Day! I would love to read more by this author — I read Us a few months ago and enjoyed it, and I really should get to his earlier book that’s sitting on my shelf. My daughter would be very excited to see Tamora Pierce on your list. She absolutely loves her, and has been trying to get me to read the Beka Cooper books for a while now. (Maybe this summer… I did really enjoy the Alanna books!) Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

