April Wrap-Up & May TBR

Hey Bookworms! Here as promised is my April Wrap-up, May TBR, and some little life updates! So Let’s get started with the 9 books I read in April! 4 Novels (?), 2 graphic novels/comics, 1 manga, and 1 audio book. So I will start from what I started with at the beginning of the month to the last I finished. As always the goodreads links are in the titles because I am not the best at summaries, and don’t want to be biased to any store!

April Wrap-Up

1. When I’m Gone by Abbi Glines

When I'm Gone

Review/Retrospection here!

2. Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

This is why I had a question mark next to novel because I would list this as an anthology. I loved hearing Percy narrate this and the illustrations are AMAZING! Anyone who’s read the PoJ series I definitely recommend reading this it was a 5/5 stars!

3. Once Upon a Time: Out of the Past by Kalinda Vázquez (Text) and Corinna Bechko (Illustrations)

Once Upon a Time Out of the Past

I fangirled so much when this preorder came! It was gorgeous without the dust jacket! The pictures are on my Twitter date April 16th because I can’t get them off my phone right now, but I was a happy Oncer! That being said I do pay attention to the illustrations and can tend to be picky and they can even kill a story for me. Regina’s and Hook’s were not my favorite. Honestly I couldn’t tell she was Regina… I did like the story lines of all of them, so this graphic novel was a 4/5 stars!

4. Ceres, Celestial Legend Volume 2: Yuhi by Yuu Watase

Ceres Volume 2

This was a reread for me this was my favorite manga/anime in middle school and high school. I wish I had the DVD’s but the manga’s are available as E-books, so it’s a compromise. I won’t say much else because it was a sequel, but it was a 5/5 stars for me even if Aya got on my nerves in a few scenes

5. One Day by David Nicholls

One Day

This was my audiobook for the month and if I do break my ban it will probably be for more audiobooks! I did a short summary of what I thought in my 24 Hour Readathon Wrapup! This is one of my favorite love stories in the world though!

6. Pivot Point by Kasie West

Pivot Point

Super powered teens yes please! The review for this one is also in my 24 Hour Readathon Wrapup, but it was a really fun read that kept me guessing!

7. New X-Men Book 1 by Grant Morrison

New X-Men Book 1

I finished this Thursday and although the art work got better I got a little bored and bit confused near the end of it. I do want to keep trying with these comics though. I really want to open myself to more graphic novels and comics! I really did love Wolverine, so at least that is consistent! I gave it a 3/5 stars!

8. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

Blue Bloods book one

This is another reread from high school and I found myself loving Oliver all over again. I really do love the underdog characters. This is one of my favorite takes on Vampires the thought of them being fallen angels it really is interesting. Plus I have a weakness for anything that involves reincarnation. That being said growing up there were a few moments with the characters that annoyed me about them. It was a 4/5 stars, but I am definitely going to enjoy rereading this series!

9. Disney by Rees Quinn

Disney

I enjoyed it a bit at the beginning, but then it seemed like someone just copied and pasted it from the internet. I know a biography is about someone else’s life, but i feel the writer should still have a voice. It was a 2/5 stars for me.

May TBR

(Starting with my currently reading to what I want to read next!)

1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

A Game of Thrones

I know, I know I’ve been reading this forever! School got busy and it was a bit of heavy read, so I stopped reading it in March and April. I want to finish it when the semester is over which is next week, so I want to buckle down with it. After I finish I hope to continue with my buddy read onto the second book!

2. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

The Bad Beginning

I know it’s a short book, but I have some school reading to get done this weekend, so I plan to take this bit by bit and finish it really soon!

3. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty

My first audio book of the month and I’m not sure which I love more the story or the Narrator’s voice! I plan to finish it within the next week or two because I am hypnotized!

4. The Time Travelers Volume One by Caroline B. Cooney

Time Travelers

Honestly another reread nostalgia case! In the first 30 pages I found it cute, but now reading it older I find some of the characters behaviors annoying… It got a bit slow and a bit boring, but I want to push through this!

5. Out of Time by Jen McLaughlin

Out of Time

This is a second book in a new adult series I forgot about, so I reread the last bit of the first book, Out of Linebefore diving into this one. It pulled me in, but I have a few notes already in the first few chapters. I think this will be the next book I want to review!

6. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to You

I’ve wanted to read this book since it’s release, so I’m really really hoping to read it this month! I hope it’s everything I have been waiting for!

7. The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir

On Tuesday I am seriously excited to feed my curiosity about this book! I can’t wait for it to come out! So whatever I am reading I am dropping to devour this!!!

I also plan on participating in Bout of Books readathon this time around to try and knock out my TBR some more! The last day for sign-ups is on the 12th. This readathon takes place from the 11th to the 17th. So next weekend I will post a TBR for that on Friday. I just am excited to do another readathon they make me feel accomplished.

So bookworms that is my wrap-up and my TBR! I am happy with my reading this month it felt more relaxed. Have you read any of these books? Do you plan to? Are you going to participate in Bout of Books? What May releases are you excited for? Let me know in the comments. Talking about books is my favorite! Also I updated my blog to include a contact page, so if you want to talk or suggest things you want me to talk about feel free to contact me! Happy reading and have a good weekend! I will post again very soon!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

6 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up & May TBR

  1. Pingback: Brief Life Updates | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

