30 Day Challenge Day 9: Following my Own Opinion

30 day reading challenge

Hey Bookworms! I thought I would get Day 9 up a bit earlier to make up for the last 2 days of late posts. Anywho today’s post is another one that made me think because the only time I pick up books I wouldn’t normally is for school. That being said I had to remember the classes I’ve taken and the books I’ve read. After thinking quite a bit I finally remembered one I really liked!

Day 9: A Book I Didn’t Expect to Like

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Scarlet Letter

I read this in my American Lit class and it was one of my most dreaded classes because American Literature bores me! It wasn’t until I decided to write an essay on this book. I found a liking for it. I love doing close readings and finding symbolism of books. The symbolism of the color red and how even in the time this book was written it acknowledges how aware children truly are. Pearl is aware of what she is to her mother a reminder of her sin and often does things that could be considered as acting out to get attention. I know most find this book boring, but the English major in me loves looking at books in different ways and finding unexpected symbolism. Sometimes when you shut-out the popular opinion and look at a book on your own it can surprise you! Now I didn’t LOVE this book, but I did really like it!

Well I’m done for this post bookworms! Have you had a book on a syllabus you dreaded, but ended up liking? Let me know down below! Happy Reading!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

Leave a Reply

