30 Day Reading Challenge Days 15&16: It’s Like Choosing a Favorite Friend

30 day reading challenge

Hey bookworms! Sorry I’ve been gone for a few days, but I’ve been having technical issues and pain issues too. Basically me and my computer are falling apart at the same time… Me because of the monsoon season weather and my scars and knee like to act up when it’s about to rain. My computer is just old… But you probably want to hear about books right? I’ll get started on the happier subject. Which days 15&16 were the hardest decisions of my life! It felt like choosing between friends and let’s face it we all know that is wrong! This is a challenge after all which means I have to answer it… The struggle was real guys!

Day 15: Favorite Male Character

So many of these males were part of my developing as a teen and as a person in general. These characters have helped me see that not all problems are solved with harsh words or force. That some males even if rare can see a girl. Not for who she is physically, but on the inside. Some can stay true and loyal friends. Now who am I choosing. I thought long and hard before I finally picked the one who first stole my heart in my teen years:

Adrian Ivashkov from Vampire Academy and The Bloodline Series

FrostbiteBloodlines

Let’s face it he was my first book book boyfriend. I let him go when it came to the Bloodlines series according to my general rule with book boyfriends but that is a different story. In both of these stories Adrian has problems and he has serious flaws. He is/was someone I could hope to find in real life. Someone who given the support can conquer his support and all his vices. He is tall, artistic, sarcastic, a bit crazy, and has this lazy cockiness that makes it something worth getting past. He isn’t the best fighter but will use his abilities to helped his loved ones. Lets face it he is not sane all the time, but neither am I. Mead has a way of painting characters that all be it sexy are people you can find in real life unlike most YA male leads. For the longest time I knew these characters could not exist, but with Adrian I knew there was a chance to find someone like him. Okay and trust me I am revisiting the VA books over the summer to compare his growth in the two series. Plus I want to meet him again for the first time!

Day 16: Favorite Female Character

This was so hard because I am trying not to be repetitive and name the same characters over and over again. I think I have changed my mind at least 5 times, but I am just going to say the one that is popping into my head right at this very moment and go with it!

Bridget Vreeland from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Series

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Honestly this series was one of the contemporary books I adored when I was younger. Waiting for the release of the 3rd and 4th after I read the first two. Wanting to know what happened to these girls. Hoping they had advice for me when I faced their challenges. Honestly I relate to each of these girls in a lot of ways. I see parts of myself in each of them, and maybe it’s what I’m facing now that makes me think of Bridget.

She is a lot of time the energy in the group. The sunshine and strength. The one who sees what she wants and goes for it full speed ahead, but then when facing something hard she closes it out and avoids it for as long as she can until she can’t. It hits her and drags her down. Her free spirit ambles in direction in denial because she has lost control. That is how I feel right now dragged down with no self control, but through her sisters and her goals she always finds herself once again. She is flawed and broken. Shiny on the surface, but someone that needs help underneath. I understand this and get how it’s hard to want to reach for help, but she does it and so have I. She will be my role model through this time. She made it through I can too.

Well that is all for now bookworms! Again sorry for being MIA but life happens I guess. I hope you can forgive me! Would you have been able to make these choices, and if so who would you have picked? Who were your favorite characters in the books I mentioned? Maybe you can help add more to my library TBR. I do adore talking about books! Let me know in the comments below. Happy reading!

For my 1st day, and days 1112, 13&14 click on the links!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

Leave a Reply

