July Wrap-Up: My Ambition Made Me Fall a Little Short

July Wrap-Up

Hey bookworms! Guess what? July is over! Can you believe it? I know I can’t! 23 days till the start of my last semester of my undergrad… Scary… Any who if you read my July TBR, you will know I set my goal for the month really high… I came up a little short (and that may be a pun about my 4 feet 10 inches of shortness)… So how much did I read you ask? Well I read 14 books and DNFed 1! I know it’s not horrible, but I really wanted to read the most my last full month of summer. So what all did I read? I read: 6 graphic novels/comics/manga, 3.5 audio books, and 3.5 novels not including my DNF (or Did not Finish) So with that being said I’ll start in the order read, and finish with talking about the one I put down. As always the links to the Goodreads pages will be in the titles so you all can choose from there the platform you want to peruse/buy them from.

July Wrap-Up

1. Ms. Marvel Volume 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson (Goodreads Author), Adrian Alphona (Artist), Jacob Wyatt (Artist)

Ms Marvel Vol 2

Honestly I was a little disappointed in Volume 2 and maybe it’s because how they painted Wolverine and after that it went pretty slow for me. I guess my interest faded because he is an epic character. The changing art style was also something I struggled with because of the 2 distinct styles. It was overall a 3 out of 5 stars for me, but I don’t think I will be continuing this series unless someone can convince me otherwise.

2. Princess in Waiting by Meg Cabot

Princess in Waiting

I gave this one a 3 out of 5 stars. The advice Mia follows and gives along with her insecurities were a major draw back. It had sweet moments, but her complaint about distance got on my nerves after a bit as well.

3. When You’re Back by Abbi Glines

When You're Back

I did love the plot twist in this book, and therefore it’s been more than a bit better than the experiences I’ve been having with Glines’ books lately. I do wish a bit of the twist had been introduced a bit more in the previous book because when reading it the info threw me off a bit. It ended with the with a key of the past cliches, so I ended up giving it a 4 out of 5 stars.

4. Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Frostfire

Honestly I adored this book. There were a bit repetitive on some terms like the molten gazes, so that kept me from enjoying the love aspects in this book. It did make me want to finish the first series to get into trolls again, but it was a very action packed making it a fast paced read. Hoping to finish reading the first series before reading this series. I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars!

5. Into the Woods by Erin Hunter (Creator), Dan Jolley (Goodreads Author), Don Hudson(Illustrator)

Warriors Into the Woods

Into was super cute and super fun stepping back into the Warriors world. I was gifted this by my lovely book BFF The Paige-Turner and I adore her for it. I will do a haul of what she sent me ASAP, but again I was so happy to read something light and let’s face it I love a good backstory. The art style did have a few odd issues, but besides that it was great it was a 4 out of 5 stars for me!

6. Ceres: The Celestial Legend Volume 3 by Yuu Watase

Ceres Volume 3

This manga especially this volume has a special place in my heart because this was one of my first animes I’ve watched and this one covers the first episodes I watched. The thing I love about these mangas is they reveal things the anime didn’t. 5 out of 5 stars.

7.  Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh, Ivanka Hahnenberger (Translator)

Blue is the Warmest Color

This was a pretty read as far as the colors. I did see the movie first, so the story wasn’t exactly my favorite. It had it’s sweet moments, but the melancholiness wasn’t the best for the mood I was in. The ending wasn’t what I was hoping for, so the rating went down a bit. If I was happier at the time I think I would’ve been more sympathetic. I gave it a 3 out of 5 stars!

8. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 1

This was my audiobook reread and fell in love with these characters all over again. The reader really fit these girls and I am eager to reread the rest of the books.

9. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites

This was my half read/half listen. I did enjoy it, but I was a little unsure how I felt about the end. It made me feel as if the main character was a bit unreliable, but I did adore the X-Men feel. If you’ve read this book please let me know how you felt, so I can make sense of how I feel! This book was a four out of 5 stars for me.

10. Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: Best of the Best by  Brian Reed (Text), Roberto de la Torre

Ms Marvel Original Vol 1

Now this Ms Marvel made me giggle and I really liked her attitude and confidence. I greatly enjoyed the art work and definitely how strong of a character she was. I got a little lost at the end so overall this was a 4 out of 5 stars!

11. Princess in Pink / Project Princess by Meg Cabot

Princess in Pink

My rating for this is on my TBR Takedown update, and I don’t want to be repetitive, so the rating is in the link, but it was a light and sweet read as always.

12. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

The Miseducation of Cameron Post

Another one I talked about in the Update, but this book took over most of the take down since I really wanted to like it! Sadly it fell flat for me.

13. There’s No Place Like Here by Cecelia Ahern

There's No Place Like Here

I think this was the shortest Ahern book I read to date. I really enjoyed the concept of this story as well as yet another use of magical realism. Needless to say I need my own copy because the library disc scratched on the last one, so I didn’t get to here something happened. As much as I loved the concept I felt lacking of getting to know these characters so this one was a 4 out of 5 Stars.

14. Uncanny X-Men: Breaking Point by Kieron Gillen (Text), Carlos Pacheco (Illustrations), Terry Dodson (Illustrator)

Uncanny X-Men Vol 1

Confession guys before I give you the rating: I found out this was not the first one in this series after I finished reading it. Yes, I feel like the biggest ditz, but on a high note I think this is my favorite X-Men series there is the art work was the best and the characters made me giggle. I plan to read the first one ASAP but I adored Kitty and Logan the most to make me smile. A 4 out of 5 stars for now. May change when I read the earlier ones because I will have less confusion!

The One I Couldn’t Finish

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks

The Longest Ride

This was my audio book DNF because the pace of this book was much too slow especially since I saw the movie first. Don’t hate me because I didn’t finish, but it dragged too much for me. I am not a huge Nicholas Sparks girl, but a lot of his books have the same components and it just wasn’t for me.

Well that is what I read for July bookworms! What did you read? How do you feel when a book doesn’t meet your expectations. How long do you wait to DNF a book? Do you have a limit on the ones you let yourself not finish in a month? Have you read any of these and what were your thoughts on them? Let me know in the comments please! My August TBR will be up soon I promise! Happy reading and have a good weekend!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

Banners By: James Fenney

3 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up: My Ambition Made Me Fall a Little Short

  1. Don’t worry girly, you did great! I can’t wait to read Princess Diaries 4 & 5 and let you know what I think! You know I own Into the Woods and tried reading before and could not get into it 😦 but I am deff going to try again! I need to post my wrap up soon as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

