Movie Monday: Top 5 Ghibli Films That Stole My Heart (with an Honorary Mention)

mm (2)

Hey Bookworms! It’s been a bit since I’ve done a Movie Monday post, but I saw a booktuber post a video I was totally inspired by, so I am springing off of her video. For those of you who don’t know what my Movie Monday posts are they are my chances to talk about my favorite movies, adaptions, shows, and anime. Whether it be a review or just to rank and fan girl over them. Now which booktuber inspired me? Victoria Shaz did a video on her top favorite Ghibli films and lets face it that made me want to talk about my favorites as well! I will put her video here so you can see why I was eager to talk about mine:

For this posts the link to the movie summary and info will be in the titles, a poster, then my reasons for loving, and the trailer (for the ones I can find), so you won’t miss out on any of my fan girling!

Ghibli Films of My Heart

1. Kiki’s Delivery Service

kikis-delivery-service-poster-400x600

Kiki came at a time when I first fell for anime and magic. I was in a big witch phase and a yearning for young wanderlust. Kiki filled both of those needs. I was envious of her independence, her friendships, and just her experiences at such a young age. The ability to take flight and go is something that I yearned for, and yet a cat who can talk? A constant friend who tells you how they feel even if don’t want to hear it. This movie is a sweet coming of age and provides me with an urge to go with each time I watch it! It is very sweet movie and helps remind you about taking the time to find yourself. If you ever feel lost or just want to dream of an ocean side simple life. I definitely recommend this film in all it’s cuteness!

2. Howl’s Moving Castle

Howls_Moving_Castle_Poster

Honestly this is a very close second! It was so hard not putting the two films as a tie. This film makes me giggle over and over! I can watch it a million times over and never get sick of it! Honestly I have a bond and relation to each character and find new things to love each time. This takes magic and the art work of this style of movies to a whole new level. It makes you feel the feels and get lost for a few hours. I don’t want to say much more, but come on wouldn’t it be fun if your house could move and you could go any place you wanted with a turn of a dial! A handsome wizard, talking fire, and a beautiful setting what more could you want?? PS This is also one of my favorite books!

3. Whisper of the Heart

Whisper of the Heart

If you are a bookworm, a writer, a music lover and love a cute love stories. This movie is for you! It encourages you to find your dream and follow it along side the ones you love. It is honestly describes perfectly what does through a writer and reader’s head most days. I love how it can make you feel the feels and have you feeling inspired the next moment. Honestly makes me love words all the more!

4. Spirited Away

Spirited Away

One of the first films most ghibli watchers find and honestly can get a little scary for young watchers! It does fill the curiosity to find more like it. It makes you appreciate to appreciate what you have and who you are. The strength of friendship and it’s just plain cute!

5. Ponyo

Ponyo

Honestly I know this is for 5-6 year olds, but the cuteness is way to hard to resist. Plus even I learned more about ocean! It is my favorite version of the little mermaid, and the cast is so fun and fit each character!

Honorary Mention

The Wind Rises

thewindrises1

This one is a bit longer than the others and can get a bit slow, but it is Miyazaki’s last film and if you pay attention you can see a lot of symbolism. A sweet and sad love story this one will always have a special place in my heart because it was the first one I saw in theaters and I saw it with the person I care most for. It reminds me that love can be hard no matter what, but if you love someone you want nothing to hold them back from their dreams. Definitely a movie to have tissues near and for the watchers who are patient. Again a phenomenal cast and story really Ghibli can do no wrong in my eyes!

Well bookworms those were my top picks! That was one of the hardest moments of my life because I adore all of them! So picking my favorites were like picking my favorite books and we all know how hard that is. Each Ghibli film has a special meaning and lesson. I find my memories and self wrapped in each of these films and each time I am gifted a new one. So those were my picks? Which are your favorites? What do they mean to you? Did I make you curious to watch any of these beautiful movies? Ghibli films are my childhood and will forever be apart of my adulthood! Want to know which ones I own? Feel free to ask because I love to talk! Happy reading and watching!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

13 thoughts on “Movie Monday: Top 5 Ghibli Films That Stole My Heart (with an Honorary Mention)

  1. Ahhhh I love Ghibli! This is making me want to make a post about my favorites too, would you mind? I can’t pick my absolute favorite, but one that I didn’t see on you list is My Neighbor Totoro! That movie has so much nostalgia for me. I remember pretending to meet Totoro when I was little. The fact that Miyazaki is retiring saddens me so much 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    • I heard he is directing another type of film. Of course I would love to see your favorites! It was so hard to pick for me! I went back and forth so many times. I kind of cheated with The Wind Rises, but I feel it need to be mentioned! I feel it is good for the original ghibli watchers. There is another Ghibli film I wanted to mention Up on Poppy Hill. New one I found that is sweet too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Spirited Away is one of my favourite films – simply brilliant. Howl’s Moving Castle is one of my favourite books, and for me the film isn’t quite as good (although I understand and appreciate the changes they made to the story) but still a good film.
    I still haven’t seen Ponyo, but I’ve heard good things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like the end of the movie more than the book but I plan on rereading it again ASAP! Hiem makes me giggle every take with his “bark” Ponyo is a super sweet movie that makes me more curious to try real ramen! Let me also mention that the music in ALL of the Ghibli films are amazing. Didn’t mention that but I want music box of Kiki, Howl, and Spirited away songs and I’d be forever happy!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

