Top Ten Tuesday: Why Yes, I do Believe in Fairy tales and Their Remixes

T10 2

Hey bookworms! I know it’s been a while since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday hosted by lovely Blog The Broke and The Bookish, but today’s topic just called to me! For those of you who don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is: It is a weekly blog post where bloggers are given a topic, and we respond to it with our top ten books or bookish answers. The only thing you need to do is give credit where it is do and link the creators in your posts. Now what about today’s topic has me so excited? Fairy-Tale retellings! I have been more eager to read them lately, so this is a fun way to have a personal checklist. I am also cheating on this one and adding 3 extra. I hope that’s okay with you all… I am separating the list into ones that are currently out, and then the last 3 the releases I’m dying to get my hands on! As always the links will be in the titles to the goodreads where I also borrowed the cover picture from.

Top Ten Fairy-Tale Retellings I Need To Read

1. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Adieh

The Wrath and The Dawn

Honestly there is so much hype with this book and usually I avoid them. The premise and retelling makes it so hard to avoid. I plan to start this weekend and I cannot wait!

2. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die

I read The Wizard of Oz in fall and want to read the rest of the series, but I am curious to see such a sweet and happy character take a turn! I own this and hopefully this post will push me to read it!

3. Isle of the Lost by Melissa De La Cruz

The Isle of the Lost

So I think this is an author buy as well as needing it because of the retelling factor. I want to read this asap! Oh and also get my hands on a copy!

4. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily

Peter pan retelling and pretty. I know I keep talking about reading it a lot, but I promise this month! I hope I love it more than her other book Peaches.

5. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Ella Enchanted

Honestly I watched the movie first and curious of the differences. I love one of her other novels, so I have high hopes for this one!

6. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Crimson Bound

I adored Cruel Beauty and Red Riding Hood is my favorite fairy tale so I can’t wait to see how I feel about this one. Since it’s in the same world as Cruel Beauty I am eager to see if it has mythology too.

7. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

I have this and keep putting it off, but Beauty and the Beast is definitely a fairy tale that has the most interesting ways to spin the retelling.

8. Wicked by Gregory Maguire, Douglas Smith (Illustrator)

Wicked Oz

Bought it a bit ago and again just curious to know a bit of “backstory” on the witches. I cannot wait to see if I feel sympathy towards the villain.

9. Stray by Elissa Sussman

Stray

This is just a whole different spin on fairy tales in general. I am curious to see if I like this twist. I don’t know much about it, but I am eager to takes on taking charge of your fate.

10. The Swan Kingdom by Zoë Marriott

The Swan Kingdom

Honestly I found this today for this post! I love the Swan Princess movie and I am curious what this retelling is about! I hope it is so good…

Retellings I Cannot WAIT For

1. Once Upon a Time: Red’s Untold Tale by Wendy Toliver

Red's Untold Tale

Okay if you don’t know I am a huuuuuuuuuge Once Upon a Time fan! Red is also one of my favorite characters and if you haven’t guessed why. My signature at the end must not be enough of a hint! I am a big wolf lover and come on this cover is gorgeous! I need it!!! K I’ll breathe now, but so tempted to preorder both a hard copy, an e-copy, and I even requested a review copy from Netgalley. Fingers crossed they say yes!

2. A Whole New World by Liz Braswell

A Whole New World

Aladdin is my favorite Disney movie and I am so excited and curious to read this book. I want to see how this tale twists in its retelling. Netgalley rejected this request when I first started using it, so now I have to wait =( I am getting it ASAP though!

3. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

A Thousand Nights

Similar premise to The Wrath and the Dawn but I want to see the differences. Another pretty cover and plus each retelling should have a new voice to hear!

Well those are my choices bookworms! Sorry it took me a bit, but I got a bit distracted! Have you read any of these? Which is your favorite? Which should I start with? Which is your favorite fairy tale? Want me to see your TTT feel free to link it below! I always am looking for more books to add to my to buy list. If you know more Red Riding Hood retellings let this wolf girl know! Happy readings and never stop believing in fairy tales!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Why Yes, I do Believe in Fairy tales and Their Remixes

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Authors that have Made Me Spend the Most Money | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

