Movie Monday: Top 5 Animes that My Nostalgia is Craving

mm (2)

Hey bookworms! It’s been a few weeks since I did a Movie Monday post, but my last one on my Favorite Ghibli Films inspired this next topic! That being said my next topic will be about the animes that whisked me into a love for a different kind of show addiction. A kind of story telling and graphic style I still haven’t gotten tired of. Now one thing I must say about me is I have random cravings and not just for food, but for books genres, movies to watch, and shows! I very much watch things based on my mood or by a memory pops in my head with that being said: I invite you to peak and see which ones have been running through my head.

1. Ceres Celestial Legend

Ceres Anime

Now I do admit I may have watched this anime too young, but once I started with that VHS gifted by a relative who probably didn’t know much about the content, I was hooked. Granted I started it in the middle before I could get to the beginning and didn’t get to finish it in english I was hooked on the manga as well. Toya being one of my first fictional boyfriends. I’ve always been interest in genetics, inheriting powers, and reincarnation. This anime has all three. If you ever wonder if you can fight your destiny or don’t have a choice this anime is one to check out for sure!

2. Hamtaro

Hamtaro

It’s Hamtaro Time! I remember trying to rush home after school to be able to watch this at the end of 5th and beginning of 6th grade. This was truly one of the first times I remember Shipping! I loved Hamtaro and Bijou together! It had me wondering what my pets got up to while I was away.

3. Inuyasha

Inuyasha

I have no shame to literally say I was in love with Inuyasha. The character and the show. A lot of people have always called Kagome as annoying, but I loved her as a character. She was strong and firm for the situation she was in. People also don’t give into the fact that she was ONLY 15. I mean how many 15 year old now do you know that would be able to handle being thrown into the past without our modern technologies? Not including having to handle scary creatures and a cute, but one tracked minded boy. Come on people wouldn’t kill ya to have sympathy!? I mean I’d like to see you handle the feudal era with a bike and bow and arrow. I love this series and am slowly reliving it through Hulu where as Netflix only has the first two seasons.

4. Sailor Moon

sailor_moon_s_banner

Yes bookworms, I am a moonie! This show taught me a lot. How to be strong through your flaws. That you have to face your flaws even when you don’t think you can. It pushed me to my first instrument (violin) through my adoration of Neptune/Michelle/Michiru. It taught me love is love no matter what gender you are through Neptune and Uranus! It started to show me there was a norm even if the US wasn’t ready for it. One of the reasons I didn’t get to finish it because of the ahead thinking of the Japanese. It was never finished in English! I adored the movies and bonded with my little sister through it. There is no way to watch the ones I grew up now because even though Hulu has a dubbed version it is not the original dub which rubs me wrong! I plan to try and buy the DVDs ASAP off of Amazon!

5. Revolutionary Girl Utena

529447-revolutionary_girl_utena_main_image_super

I did watch the movie first before I started on the anime, but this anime will always have a special place in my heart. It shows that you don’t always need a prince to rescue you and sometimes finding that one friendship can open you up in a way you never knew. I did include the first Episode I found on Youtube dubbed, but I do plan to buy the DVDs when I have the (extra) money as well as the rest of the mangas. It also had some quirky parts that drew me in both and inspired my creativity in so many ways when I was younger.

Honorable Mentions

Tenchi Muyo

Tenchi Muyo

Yu Yu Hakusho

Yu Yu Hakusho

Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni Kenshin

So bookworms that is what my nostalgia has made me crave lately! Do you have moods/cravings where you have to watch old shows? What were the first animes you watched? Do you have thoughts on these? Would you be interested in seeing my top more current favorite animes? Let me know in the comments! As always I love to talk happy reading and watching!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

18 thoughts on “Movie Monday: Top 5 Animes that My Nostalgia is Craving

  1. I’m tearing up here!!! I love Hamtaro, InuYasha & Sailor Moon!! (don’t know the other ones yet) ugh!!! So many feels right now. I don’t wanna brag, but when I was a child I sued to have a Hamtaro fanny pack hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! Ceres is one of my favorite anime and I love Tooya. I’m actually fan of Yuu watase’s manga’s and anime’s and I love all her works.As for Inu-yasha I totally adore this series.Yu-Yu Hakusho and Rurouni Kenshin are amazing series too.Have you watched Fushigi Yuugi yet? If you liked Ceres then you would definitely love “Fushigi Yuugi” too because it’s written by the same author and it’s in the top of my list of favorite animes you must check it out. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • I am rewatching Inuyasha before bed lately. and slowly rebuying the Ceres series on my Nook.I wish I could somehow tie them into a project of some sort this semester but don’t think it will work. I wish I could rewatch all the animes on my list? Should I do a post on the ones I recommend most or my top animes?

      Liked by 1 person

      • What do you think of Sesshomaru? Is it wrong that I like both Inuyasha and Sesshomaru too. Ceres is really a beautiful romantic tale and I always swoon over Tooya whenever he appears because he looks similar to my favorite character Tamahome from Fushigi Yuugi. I think you should do a post on the ones that you would recommend the most and you can include your top animes in it too. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. GO SAILOR MOON. I love that we all unite over it so much :’) Oh oh, and the fact that Marissa Meyer used to write Sailor Moon fanfics before she moved onto the Lunar Chronicles.
    This post makes me want to cry. Because omg, SO MANY MEMORIES. Bless you for this post ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Readathon I’m Joining this Month: RYBSAT Round 6 TBR! | CK's Reading Corner

  5. Pingback: It’s My Blogaversary: I Made It A Whole Year!!! | CK's Reading Corner

  6. Pingback: Movie Monday Discussion: You’re Hooked till They Go TOO Far… When Do You Leave? | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

