August Wrap-Up: The Last Books I Snuck in Before School Started

August Wrap Up

Hey bookworms! I know it’s a bit later than my normal timing, but what matters is I’m getting it up right? So last month I had a really good reading month considering I went over my goal! I read 18 books: 8 audiobooks, 6 e-books/physical books. and 3 mangas, and 1 DNF. So without further ado here is what I read in August in the order I read them! As always the links are to goodreads as well as the cover pictures, so I show no bias.

August Wrap-Up

1. Princess in Training by Meg Cabot

Princess in Training

The debacle Mia had caused over her summer in Genovia and the aftermath was so funny! It made it one of the more enjoyable ones of the series. It was a 4 out of 5 stars for me.

2. Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath

This was really good, especially the spin on the underworld and Persephone herself. I felt something was missing for me though because I didn’t connect as much as I wanted to. I don’t know exactly what though. so I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars.

3. Party Princess by Meg Cabot

Party Princess

I am sure I mentioned this is a readathon wrapup or somewhere else, but August gas become a blur to me. I gave this a 4 out of 5 stars and mostly because I enjoyed the musical Mia took part in. It was funny and cute and I kind of wish someone would make it a real thing.

4. Princess on the Brink by Meg Cabot

Princess on the Brink

I gave this one a 3 out of 5 stars. I think the way the issue of sex was handled was a bit of a disaster. Even for a high school relationship at least in my opinion. As well as the issue of long distance relationships. Honestly everything was rash, but I did like the insight to Mia’s dad.

5. No Game No Life by Yuu Kamiya

No Game No Life

This was my DNF that I gave a 2 out of 5 stars… This was a manga/ prose hybrid and it only got a 2 because the pictures were pretty. The writing style kept saying the Brother and the sister too much instead of other pronouns and it drove me crazy. I put it down after 20 pages.

6. Past my Defenses by Wendy Sparrow

perf5.000x8.000.indd

A werewolf book of course it drew my eye thanks to browsing Judith’s blog. Now that I have tweet the author a bit I have more of a soft spot for it. That being said there were times where it dragged and the main couple frustrated me, so I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

7. Blue Moon by Alyson Noel

Blue Moon

This was a reread and a major throwback for me. The thing that threw my full immersion is I remembered so much even how I felt originally when it happened. It kind of was jarring knowing the next steps too well if that makes sense? I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars!

8. The Second Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood

This is my favorite book in the series and another reread for me. I think this is the book where I relate most to all the girls, but especially Bridget with her lost feeling and struggling to feel grounded. These books just really help. Needless to say a 5 out of 5 stars.

9. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

The Orphan Queen

By far one of my favorite books of the year! It broke the mold of YA for me lately with not only the heroine, but the Hero as well! You don’t fall for him for his otherwordly looks (like many too perfect boys in YA), but you fall for his personality with our heroine. Wil is a strong queen who will do what is needed to help her people. The element of fantasy touches this book in order to express the other important issues, and definitely leaves you wondering what more will come in book 2! I definitely need to own my own copy ASAP to do a thorough review. 5 out of 5 stars!!!

10. Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott

Fire and Flood

I was so lucky to read two amazing books back to back! I know this gets compared to the hunger games a lot, but in my opinion it is a million times better! In the Hunger Games you are fighting for your life in this book you are fighting to save a life of a loved one. I adored every concept of this book and it was difficult to put it down to sleep. I cannot wait to get my hands on book 2 with this one either! 5 out of 5 stars!

11. Princess Mia by Meg Cabot

Princess Mia

I gave this one a 4 out of 5 stars! I liked how the issue of therapy and depression was handled in this book. I cheered for Mia and also liked her Doctor, but what I didn’t like is how the bullying wasn’t handled especially because it was cyberbullying. This book had a chance to take a stance on a budding issue at the time.

12. Thanks for the Memories by Cecelia Ahern

Thanks for the Memories

If you haven’t noticed this summer has been a summer of Ahern for me. I really liked this book especially Joyce’s dad and how she tied magical realism into this book! The downside is it made me feel the same frustrations that Love Rosie did, so I had to give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

13. Vampire Game by Judal

Vampire Game Vol 1

A gift from the very lovely Paige! I loved this manga it was cute with interesting twists and honestly I love anything dealing with the theme of reincarnation. The art was really my style. I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars! Thank you again Paige! You really are the best book BFF ever!

14. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily

Another favorite book of 2015! I am more than happy I listened to this over audio book not only because the narrator was amazing, but if I would’ve read this aloud I would’ve ended up a blubbering mess. Reading print forces you to focus, but audiobooks allow you to multi-task. I highlighted some quotes in my e-copy. I get why people call it one of the most beautiful books they’ve ever read.

15. Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol. by Naoko Takeuchi, William Flanagan (Translator)

Sailor Moon Vol 4

So originally my plan for this series was: to wait until I had the money to buy the next volumes to continue, but I caved and got this volume and the next from the library. Sadly I had to give this one a 4 out of 5 stars not on the fault of the book, but because of the horror I found in the library book. I found tears. The first time I thought it was just because maybe a small child got to it… By the final rip I could tell people were tearing out the tiles for personal use!! I am still livid! How can someone even do that to a public book?! I plan to tell the librarian what I found when I turn it in, but needless to say I could not enjoy the book to the fullest…

16. Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Vol 5 by Naoko Takeuchi, William Flanagan (Translator)

Sailor Moon Vol 5

This one thankfully did not suffer the same fate as the previous volume. It was sweet and getting to the know the characters especially Mini Moon’s back story was amazing! It was waaay better than the anime! The end made me giggle. It was a 5 out of 5 stars!

17. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Nightshade

I definitely loved this reread through a listen. It broke my heart all over again, but in a slightly good way. I remember why I have such a deep love for all these characters! 5 out of 5 stars!

18. Girls in Pants by Ann Brashares

Girls in Pants

My last read/listen of the month! I loved this book too and although not as much as the second book. Brashares has a way that makes you feel such strong empathy for her characters that makes her books so good! These books will always be comfort reads!

Well, bookworms, that’s it for August! I went over my TBR goal which was a total of 12? I strayed from my TBR, but then again which of us doesn’t? What did you read in August? Have you read any of these books and if yes what were your thoughts on them? What was your favorite book of the month? Do you reread books often? What was your worst library horror? Feel free to let me know in the comments below as always I love to talk! Happy reading! Enjoy your Monday!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

Banners Created By: James Fenney

One thought on “August Wrap-Up: The Last Books I Snuck in Before School Started

  1. Pingback: September TBR: The Books I Want to Try to Sneak in Between the Piles of Homework | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

