Book Talk: Rereads and Characters: From Once Liked to Plotting Your Revenge on Them?

book talk

Hey bookworms! I know it’s late, but I can’t sleep, so what better way to tire my brain out than by with a blog post? Honestly this post has been on my mind for a few nights and I’ve been just trying to figure out how to put it into words. Although this post may be short, I do want it to spike your interests and opinions! I want to know if I’m the only out there that has had this thought go through their mind, so with this slightly rambling intro let me get into the topic at hand.

Rereads and Changing Feelings of Characters

So as you can probably all tell by this point, lately I’ve been in a mood to reread many books that I read at a easier time in my life. Trying to rekindle the feeling of safety and adventure they once brought me. They have been working their magic slightly, but it hit me one night as I was reading before bed… That a certain character I used to really like and sympathize with was getting on my nerves. Now this is a series I have read before and I won’t mention which because I don’t want to spoil it by anything I say in this post, or give the feeling that it has changed my overall feelings for the book and series. It hasn’t because I still truly love what happens in each book. When rereading this book though it hit me that it has a lot of foreshadowing for what happens in the later books that I didn’t realize when I was originally waiting for the books to be released. I don’t tend to reread previous books between the gaps unless they are utterly huge. A few points usually hit that jog my memory.

That being said the foreshadowing showed me the acts the character does are actually quite reckless and somewhat flaky. Then upon further realization I realized their behaviors now will lead to the pain of the character I loved most. It led me to become unnaturally angry at this character and wanting to throw my nook (which wouldn’t have been good)!

stitch-book-throwing

My devotion for one character led me to dislike this character a bit this second time around. This thought shocked me because I never thought my feelings for a book nor it’s characters to EVER change, but once we have read a book sadly we can’t unlearn what we know of the series of events… It makes me a little sad, but maybe it just comes with becoming a different reader after being an English major for so long?

So bookworms I guess my question to you all is… Have your feelings ever changed about a character during a reread? Do me a favor and let me know if your answer is yes or no? I just want to know if I’m alone in this or not. Hope you enjoyed this post even if I’m writing off the cuff and hoping this post comes off coherently. Well I’m going to go and curl up under my covers and enjoy watching Inuyasha before I turn back to my books or even bed I need a break from thinking. Happy reading! Hope some of you find this post even if it’s going up late! Night!

boo falling asleep

sleepy duck

PS: This is my first post using gifs will you guys tell me if they work after I post this too? Please! So not tech-savvy! -///-

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

2 thoughts on “Book Talk: Rereads and Characters: From Once Liked to Plotting Your Revenge on Them?

  1. I would think this is much more common than we are originally led to believe. We as readers tend to be more analytical on our second read through because our minds are able to focus more on smaller details since we are already familiar with the general story and theme. Being able to focus more on the small stuff can cause us to have differing opinions than we previously had which leads to changes of opinion that are sometimes not for the best. The most you can really do is try to keep the memories of that first read through but remember that your view of characters is bound to change as you re-read, as you learn more about writing as an English major, and as you grow =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m actually into my last semester of being an English Major. =) I am glad I am not the only one. I will never not love a book that I once have, but I definitely can think differently of a character. Thank you so much for commenting =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

