Book Talk: Life Leading to a Reading Slump

book talk

Reading Slump and Why:

Hey bookworms! I know I haven’t done my wrap-up for September nor a TBR for this month, and honestly I am in a slump. School going on in full swing now, having to deal with the move from my childhood home, and personal issues I barely have the energy to focus on anything, but homework. I am just trying to get through it all even when I am feeling alone and lost in all that is going on. Being in a slump annoys me greatly being a book polygamist. I like reading more than one thing at a time and it’s just frustrating beyond point. It also doesn’t help that the audiobook service I used is on a credit system, so my endless listens have come to a halt. Luckily new credit starts on the 13th, so hopefully I can find a long read to listen to! I may try and grab some library listens and see if it helps, but with their CDs it can be hit or miss…

Questions to You All

Anywho my question to you my dear readers is what do you do in a slump? I also still want to be active in posting, so I want to do some writing posts in a feature called Writing Wednesday: poems, thoughts on my writing, maybe a chapter or two of my current work because due to things I may need to change some things and having fresh eyes may help. *blushes* Would you all be interested in that? Would you want to see more Movie Monday posts in place of bookish things? I just want to keep writing and keep you all interested in my postings.

Books I am Pushing Through

1. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Howl's Moving Castle

I am going to try to push through my favorite book and I do still love it, but just my mood is hard to stay in the light realm of this.

2. The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell

The Wolf Wilder

A gift from my lovely Book BFF Paige. She sent this lovely surprise to me and I almost cried. It is something this wolf girl needed at the beginning of my troubles. I really like it, so far, but due to my lack of energy I haven’t gotten far into it… I do plan to review it though. It is middle grade but books like this need to be made more of, so for that reason alone it needs a review. Plus it has wolves!!!!

3. Beaches by Iris Rainer Dart

Beaches

This is one of my ultimate favorite movies and when I realized it was a book as well. I eagerly searched for it this summer. There is already some differences, but it seems the friendship is the same and maybe reading about friendship is what I need right now…

Well that’s it for now bookworms! I hope you comment and let me know your thoughts on my questions. Let me know if they is anything specific you want me to post. I really will try to find the energy to post the wrap-up this week. At least typing made me a bit sleepy. Now to stay up 30 more minutes, so I can wait for something to be posted by my professor. I am so glad this is my last semester! Happy reading and I hope your lives are fairing better than mine at the moment if not you’re not alone in your feelings.

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

6 thoughts on “Book Talk: Life Leading to a Reading Slump

  1. Honestly, when I’m feeling slumpy, I just go with it. I read a lot and when I don’t feel like reading, I just don’t.

    You’ve got so much going on right now that it’s perfectly okay to not want to/be able to/have time to read.

    That being said, if you really WANT to read, maybe re-visit a favorite or one that you know will compliment your mood?

    Keep your head up!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think what is most frustrating about this slump for me is that I want to read, but don’t have the energy to. I can maybe get 10-30 pages read before getting tired. Thank you for the comment though. I can’t truly explain how much support means to me right now =)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Book Talk: Trying to Beat A Slump and Finding a Hated Trope Instead | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

