Book Retrospection: The Beast Within by Serena Valentino (Slight Spoilers)

Hey Bookworms! I know this book review is over due , but honestly I’ve been avoiding it. I don’t want like being so picky with it, but to be honest being a Disney Freak I was going to be. As always to be on the safe side I say slight spoilers, and it’s definitely spoilery if you’ve NEVER seen Disney’s Beauty and the Beast (which if so you need to fix this issue right away)!

The Beast Within

The Beast Within: A Tale of Beauty’s Prince by Serena Valentino

Publisher: Disney Press

Publishing Date: 22 July 2014

Format: Hard Cover

My Rating: 3 out of 5 Stars

Opening Thoughts

So I picked this up in My Birthday Book Haul without a second thought because I had seen it around before and for those of you who don’t know I am a huge Disney Freak! Seriously! Another thing that was enticing to me was it was Beast/Adam’s Back story and back story is my favorite thing EVER! Whether it be in a movie, show, game or book. Little did I know being a hardcore Disney freak would not help me fall in love with this book…

What Bothered Me

  1. This book is told in separation of Adam’s time as both “The Prince” or “The Beast” so this part comes in parts:
  • He being the main character is referred to as THE PRINCE the whole time. Nothing else. Not by his friends, his staff, or even his fiancees besides the occassional pet name of my love.. There are other titles: such as your highness or even my lord
  • His friends I’d like to think would know him and be close enough to call him Adam. I know his name in the movie is never mentioned, but many Disney fans do know it. It would also be an opportunity to inform the ones who didn’t.

2. Age: His age in the books were very obscure instead of giving him ten years like in the movie she gives him until 21st birthday. Never specifying how old he is and hard to lapse how long the change actually takes

3. The Villains: Just to put it plainly they were annoying and very petty… I wanted to smack them with the book.

4. The Gang: AKA Mrs Potts, Cogsworth, Lumiere… It is the back story and I wanted to know about his relationship with all of them. It is a known fact that Prince Adam is an orphan.

What I Liked

  1. Honestly the delving into the relationship between Gaston and the Beast. It filled in a blank for me that happened in the moment during the movie.
  2. A quote for me saved this book from having a 2 star (don’t worry if you know the end of the movie it’s not a spoiler), “To die, one must have first been alive. And the Beast could finally say that by finding love, he had lived.” Just EEEEEP

 

Wrapping It Up

Overall I don’t know if I was hard on it because I am such a Disney Fan or because it was much too short. I feel it was a missed opportunity especially since this is not only such a well known and loved character, but movie as well. I wanted it to really dig in. I feel it would’ve been better to focus on Gaston instead especially because I don’t truly see “The Beast” as a villain, but as a misunderstood character.

So that’s it for this review bookworms? Are you a hardcore Disney fan? What is your favorite Disney movie? Which character would you like to dig into? Was I too harsh on this review? Have you read this book? Let me know in the comments below. To offset how harsh I was I am going to include a trailer of the new live action movie! Happy Reading and Watching!

wolf (2)

Leave a Reply

