Movie Monday: The Boy and the Beast Mini Review

mm (2)

Hey Bookworms! I’m baaack at least for this post… I’m still trying to figure out how to use my weekends for work. I’m tired  because of how busy the work week has been, but I’m hoping it calms down in the next week. Anywho if you can’t tell, this post is gonna be a movie review. I know, I haven’t written one in a while, but the themes of this movie added it to my must buy list half way through. Needless to say I have to share my thoughts, so let’s get started!

The Boy and the Beast.jpg

Movie Title: The Boy and the Beast

The Film Company: Funimation

Rated: PG-13

Genre: Fantasy, Anime

Director: Mamoru Hosoda

Starring: Luci Christian, Eric Vale, John Swasey

Format Watched in: DVD (Rented from Netflix)

Runtime: 119

My Rating: 5 Out 5 Stars

Opening Thoughts:

Well I heard about this film coming out in select theaters near my birthday, but with my luck we hardly get selected theater films. What made me really excited for this film is this was the director of one of my favorite anime movies Wolf Children, and my expectations did not let me down!

My Review

Honestly this is a movie who’s themes reached out to me and I feel they will reached out to those who are depressed or lost. It is about a boy who runs away from his mother’s family after she passes away. After such happens, he ends up finding a world of beasts, where one takes him as his Master and Ren the apprentice. It is about not only Ren growing but, his master as well. It’s about learning to accept your differences and the darkness within. It’s about acknowledging it, accepting it, but not giving into it. As a girl who has been struggling with these issues and also it’s themes of learning to straddle two worlds, it gave me hope.

Hosoda’s films are about overcoming hardness and letting it help you grow. It shows you that even life throws things at you that hurts you can still triumph. These are definitely movies you can watch when you’re down, and not only that the art! The animation is to die for and gorgeous! The attention to the city scape, the views of the other world, or even the sunsets makes you appreciate this art of these films. It makes me sad when people down animated films a nerdy, or childish drama. I feel they are truly missing out on not only skills of the voice actors, to the animators, the directors, but also the time, thought, and heart put into the writing as well as all of the other factors above. I truly hope it never dies.

Sorry if this review is a bit vague, but I wanted to write just enough to perk your interest as well as not spoil anything. I hope my little gush was a small push for those of you that aren’t into animated films to try this one. I am sorry if I am a bit rusty, but I hope you all enjoyed hearing my voice again. I am leaving a trailer for you below to explain the summary a bit better than I did. Happy Watching!

wpid-wolf-2.jpeg

One thought on “Movie Monday: The Boy and the Beast Mini Review

  1. Pingback: September Haul: Books, Movies, and More | CK's Reading Corner

Leave a Reply

