January Wrap-Up: Better Late Than Never

Hey Bookworms! I promise one day I will get better at this. By “this” I mean blogging and working, or even expressing myself creatively. I also plan on writing a scene today for my story. It’s just working in a call center and staring at screen all day does not make it easy to want to come home and stare at a computer, or sometimes have the energy with 2 hour bus rides at times. I also am going to get glasses even if I don’t want to, I’m hoping it will help my creative and work life plus hopefully will kill the headaches… I wonder if writers that used typewriters had these problems? But anywho onto the to the topic at hand what I read last month!

January Wrap-Up

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

the-rosie-effect

I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars although most of it was enjoyable Rosie’s behavior pissed me off and sometimes hit too close to home. It was a great listen though and the narrator kept my attention.

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

the-accident-season

I was accepting this to be more paranormal, but it ended up being more of a magical realism book which normally I love, but this one I guessed the plot twist early on and thus it made it a 3 out of 5 stars for this one as well.

Symptoms of being Human by Jeff Garvin

symptoms-of-being-human

This book helped me find my need to write and express myself and it was a really inspiring story of self acceptance. I give this one a 4 out of 5 stars!

Born Wicked by Jessica Scottswood

born-wicked

This whole first book felt too rushed from the love triangle to the way it ended. I did like the parts that kept me guessing and it did make me curious to give book 2 a shot. I don’t know how soon though. I gave this one a 3 out of 5 stars.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

a-dogs-purpose

It was a really sweet endearing novel that made me love my dogs past and present. It gave me hope. I really wanted to cry when reading it, but I think so many people telling me I would made it hard to. Overall since the last bit dragged I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars.

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

the-game-of-love-and-death

For fans of The Night Circus  by Erin Morgenstern (which by now I hope you all know by now is my all time favorite book), while we all hopes she will write a sequel, this book will fill your cravings for a similar book. It is another game with 2 players who seemed doomed and yet destined. I also loved the personification of love and death as humans. They weren’t what you usually think of when you usually think of those figures. There were parts where it lost my attention near the end though, but I loved the use of music and singing in the audio book. I really recommend it, and I gave it a 4.3 out of 5 stars.

Bright Smoke Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodgewp-1461022830033.jpg

It makes me sad to say especially because I was so looking forward to this book, but it was my first DNF of the year. It was just every one seemed weak in this book not strong enough to fight their own battles. I gave it a 2 out of 5 stars because the concept still intrigued me.

Rain is Not My Indian Name by Cynthia Leitich Smith

rain-is-not-my-indian-name

This was a cute and sad coming of age series. It was about not only accepting grief but also also accepting yourself and your heritage. I though it was truly sweet and I think I would’ve enjoyed it more younger. It was a 3 out of 5 stars.

Well bookworms that is what I read in January. What did you start 2017 with? Let me know in the comments down below. I miss you all and I promise at some point I’ll figure out a work and blogging life. In the mean time I will try to post as often as I can. Anywho hope you all are reading good things! Happy Reading!

wolf (2)

 

Leave a Reply

